Totally Beautiful

31 May

In the world of food and the world of Dana… It was just a stupendous day.

 

That word.. stupendous.. looks very negative. Well fine, it was just a wonderful day! I’ve been having a lot of those lately and I must say that I have really liked it. I’ve like being at peace with no stress. I’ve liked doing what I want to do and not worrying about what I’m putting in my mouth and how much cardio I did to work it off.

 

I’m just being aware and enjoying everything life has to offer!

 

I started off my Memorial Day intending to go to Pilates, but when I got to the gym, I found out that not only had I missed an impromptu Memorial Day Zumba Class, but that my Pilates class was canceled. But what else was I expecting on a holiday? I don’t know.

 

I made up for it by doing a quick 20 minutes on the treadmill and then doing 15 minutes of abs. It worked for me!

 

I have to share my lunch for the day because I was more than proud of it. After a trip to Central Market, I had myself an awesome Greek Salad made of Romaine lettuce, cucumber slices, grilled chicken slices, chickpeas, feta cheese, and a dressing made of hummus, water, and lemon juice. Top all this off with homemade pita chips and the left over hummus… and you’ve got yourself a fantastic lunch!

Me and Sara then went on a walk to Tom Thumb and did some grocery shopping for ourselves.

We have some good eats headed your way readers!

I got a little more cardio in when we got back and I played a little Dance Central on the Xbox. I love playing that game! I miss my dancing days… that was a good point in my life when I was able to do that all the time in theatre. And I kind of regret not taking lessons longer than I did.

 

Well anyway, then I went home and started preparing food for the Petty’s. I was so excited for them to get to see the new house and for us all to get together again. At our old house, grilling out was always an affair. Dad grills and I do the dessert. Then we invite a bunch of people over to enjoy it. It is the perfect summer treat!

So tonight, my dad grilled some steak, chicken, and corn and I made roasted potatoes and a beautiful blackberry cobbler!

I obviously couldn’t wait to dig in. I helped myself to half a piece of steak and half a piece of chicken.

The steak was really good but the marinade my dad used for the chicken was AMAZING! And the corn was so beautifully in season and was so sweet and wonderful. And my blackberry cobbler came out perfectly!

Had to get this picture of it in the oven. As soon as I opened the oven my whole body melted in happiness! I’m a sucker when it comes to beauty like this.

Served with a little ice cream.

 

Dinner was perfect, company was perfect, and the night was just perfect 🙂 I love spending time with the Petty family! I also love having excuses to bake for people!

My night is ending as I’m watching cooking channel and baking Kathy’s Cinnamon Breakfast Cake from my Cake Doctor Cookbook. My daddy made a request for me to make some of this for breakfasts for him!

Today is a huge day for us! My little baby is graduating fourth grade! Just yesterday Camp was five years old and was climbing into the refrigerator trying not to get caught.

Well, time to go iron his shirt so he looks nice and handsome.

 

5 Responses to “Totally Beautiful”

  1. Tara May 31, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    I love corn on the grill, and your cobbler looks so good!! Tell Camp congrats!! 🙂

  2. Shelby May 31, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Sooo cute! I’m glad you’re happy and having a good summer! 🙂

  3. Spence May 31, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Dinner was amazing!!!

  4. Mom June 1, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Wow, you had to iron Camp’s shirt???? I ironed it already!!! Haha. Guess I did a bad job or it got messed up in your crazy car! I didn’t realize you made your pita chips. Yummy.

    • danafaris June 1, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      We walked in the door and Camp asked me to iron it!

Leave a Reply

