Night on the town

5 Jun

I’ve had a relaxing couple of days… but I’m finally starting to feel the tension of things I should be doing or should have been doing.

The last few days with all my birthday dinners and meals have left me with a very sensitive stomach and I am starting to feel bad about not working out in the last couple of days! It’s just weird to go from working out all the time to taking a nice big break. I’ll catch up for sure on Monday when I get back on track with my classes at 24. I’ll also catch up food wise…. hopefully. I need a nice clean weak in which I eat some simple foods. It is much needed seeing that last night I couldn’t even muster up the excitement to play laser tag with Camp at Main Event because my stomach was just throbbing!

I started out the morning with a nice little combination of cereals. A little bit of Kashi Go Lean, Kashi Honey Almond Flax, and some Cinnamon Cheerios. That and a couple blueberries thrown on top and I was doing pretty good!

After breakfast and a little bit of coupon searching, I headed to the Keller Farmer’s Market. It was pretty cool!!!

I got myself some instant oatmeals, a loaf of whole wheat bread for next week, a chocolate croissant for Camp for breakfast (which of course he didn’t want because he isn’t near the breakfast lover I am… sad…), and some sweet potatoes and peaches!

Look at this sweet potato!!!! I’m so used to the normal shaped ones that organic ones just blow my mind!!!!

I’m going to go do some things around the house and maybe lay out before an awesome night of Blue Sushi! Sorry tummy… one more night of badness and that’s it I promise!

*****

For lunch today, Dad, Camp, and I went back to Twisted Root for a Round 2. This time I hadn’t eaten anything or had leftovers to bring in so I was able to eat there and able to review it!

Twisted Root

When you walk into Twisted Root, it is one of those places that you kind of has that careless personality but is still really cool! They serve things like burgers, hot dogs, and salads if you are really feeling wimpy. What’s cool though is that they don’t just have burgers, they have turkey, bison, buffalo, and sometimes even ostrich burgers! They unfortunately didn’t have ostrich burgers while I was there…

If you go to Twisted Root, you have to try the Sweet Watermelon Tea! It is so good.

For lunch, I had a Turkey Burger with Guacamole on a wheat bun. It was really good! I liked it better than the burgers because the burgers are all cooked medium well here and I’m a medium, medium rare kinda girl… I like it to be a little juicy. But the turkey burger was just the right amount of juicy.

My dad had a Blue Cheese and Jalapeno turkey burger on a wheat bun.

And boring Camp had a boring cheeseburger πŸ˜›

On the side we got us some Onion Strings and Sweet Potato chips. Both were very good! I wanna go home now and make sweet potato chips with my new sweet potatoes!

After Twisted Root, it was time to do some baking.

I’ve had three bananas staring at me for days now and I didn’t know what to do with them! I finally went with classic banana bread

Doesn’t this banana look so sad 😦 It has been crying out to me, begging me to put it out of its misery!

Well you are saved little banana… never will you be that ripe again.Β  You were so ripe that I’m almost certain you were slightly alcoholic…

Oh… and I um… might have put a little to much baking soda in the mix…. my banana bread had a tumor! If I hadn’t had a rack above it, I’m sure it would have just kept growing!

I also grated an ENTIRE 4 oz German Chocolate bar for Max’s Birthday Cake while watching Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution.

Okay y’all… if you haven’t watched this ever… it will change the way you see food. I don’t ever think I can eat shiny candy or pre-made cookie dough ever again in my life.

Get ready… I’m gonna get gross.

For those of you that like shiny candy…. those candies are coated in shellac. Not only is this commonly known as the stuff that is used on flooring, but it is also less commonly known as the secretion of the female lac bug.

Eww. Now why would you want to eat that???

On a side note…. I got my grill I wanted!!!!!

Now I can take it to Ranger’s Games and tailgate… which will be happening sooner rather than later πŸ™‚ I also got a fancy apple cutter and Central Market gift card πŸ™‚ I was a happy camper! Thank’s Mr. U

*****

For dinner, I was on my way to Fort Worth to take my friend Logan to eat at Blue Sushi… the best swanky sushi place I have ever been too! Oh wow I love Blue Sushi πŸ™‚

Blue Sushi

Our waitress was super nice… but super explanatory to a fault. She tried to explain every single thing that was going on… even the process of our food getting to the table and being ready! Kinda silly, but she was cute πŸ˜› She asked us all of our names and shook hands with us… definitely an experience I have never had… especially at Blue Sushi!

As an appetizer, we ordered the spicy edemame

and the shoshito peppers

as our rolls, we got (from right to left) the Rodeo Roll, Red Eye, Horned Frog, and Tidal Wave

Funny thing is, we actually didn’t order the Tidal Wave and had really ordered the Spanish Fly…

Soooooo our waitress gave us the Tidal Wave for free on our check and also gave us our Spanish Fly!

Then for dessert, Logan got his tempura ice cream. And oh my goodness this thing was huge!!!!

And the rest of us shared the Banana Three Ways: the center is a fried banana, then you have banana ice cream and banana sushi

Maybe one of the best desserts I have ever eaten. Oh wow.

I love Blue Sushi. It’s got a club like atmosphere and feels super classy but is still really low key! But here is my warning… if you are going on a weekend… reservations are MANDATORY! When I called at 1 today to make the reservation… they told me that we could have a 7:15 appointment as long as we were out of our table by 9! I have never had that happen before! But it is just that busy and happenin’ of a place!

After Blue Sushi, we dropped Logan off at his car and the rest of us went to a Dueling Pianos Bar! It was so awesome! I can’t wait until I am 21 and don’t have to have my mom to get into this place. I think Spencer and I would have so much fun at a place like this. Versus a crazy club like atmosphere, it was a very chill sit down atmosphere with great piano performers. I will definitely be going back!

It’s now past midnight and I am baking my last cake of the day for Max’s birthday tomorrow. I hope he loves it!

Question of the day:

What is the weirdest thing a waiter or waitress has ever done for you?

Today, my waitress specifically moved my plate closer to the dessert…. I guess so I wouldn’t drip? Not only that, but she refilled Mr. U’s soy sauce for him! So weird πŸ˜›

4 Responses to “Night on the town”

  1. Tara June 5, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Brooke has been going to farmer’s markets in Austin! I wish we had some here… peaches sound so good! I watched jaimie olivers show last year, but I didnt know it was on again.. I need to watch it!! Oh and that grill is awesome. I love the color!! πŸ™‚

    I haven’t had a waiter do anything weird, but I did have a waiter spill the tray of drinks on me when I was eating at a nice restaurant before homecoming!! Thankfully they were all waters!!

    • danafaris June 5, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      The peaches are great! I had one this morning for breakfast.

      I can’t believe that happened before homecoming!!!! That just sounds so sad and awful 😦

  2. Daniel June 5, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Dana! Hope summer is treating you well. Actually it seems like your having a good time. Blue Sushi!! I’m enjoying your blog, thinking of starting one soon.

    • danafaris June 5, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

      Daniel summer is going great! I hope yours is too!

      I love Blue. Me and you are going to HAVE to go out when we get back!

      If you start a blog let me know πŸ™‚ I would so want to check it out!

Leave a Reply

