Bread Explosion?

11 Jun

Today has been an overall satisfying day so far!

Lucky me had to open at work today so that had me waking up at a whopping 7am. Oh gracious.

But even with a body full of tiredness… I think I managed to have the best day of work ever! Me and my co-receptionist Lauren were just having so much fun today! Maybe too much fun…

We were knocking things over left and right!

So other than work today… I figured I would get in a run while a nice loaf of my Aunt Gail’s banana bread was baking in the oven. My ankles hurt so bad today though so my run turned more into a run until my ankles break… and then just walk. But hey… I didn’t stop! I got my thirty minutes in that I promised myself!

Now… back to this banana bread… I don’t know WHAT is going on maybe because I am not making it with all-purpose flour, but this whole wheat banana bread keeps exploding out of its loaf pan! I think because I just fill it too full. But I’m not one for wasting!

This time I put a baking sheet underneath for easy clean up.

Here is the deal though… it tastes almost just like my Aunt Gail’s recipe but I am trying to lighten it up a bit and still keep the same flavor.

Here is the other deal… I refuse to give you Aunt Gail’s recipe. This is one of those secret family recipes. I will  however give you my special recipe! Mostly because I know if I ever start a bakery in the future… I probably wont sell my “special banana bread” as a treat.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread


1/4 c vegetable shortening

1/4 c unsweetened applesauce

1 c sugar

3 ripe bananas, mashed

2 eggs

1 1/8 c whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp all spice

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1) Preheat oven to 350 F
2) Cream shortening, applesauce, and sugar together in mixer
3) Mix in bananas
4) Mix in eggs one at a time
5) Mix all dry ingredients together and then mix them with moist
6) Pour into well greased loaf pan and bake for 1 hr

Easy right? You may have to bake a little longer depending on your oven… I have to add 5 minutes.
Tonight… me and my special guy are going to have just an us night. Ever since he has gotten a job and this summer has started we have both been so busy and have barely had a moment to ourselves… only moments with each other and a bunch of other people.

So tonight… it is our night and I can’t tell you how excited I am to have that 🙂

Also, since I’m just sitting here waiting for my bread to be done… here is a little bit of a tease to what I’m doing next.

You’ve seen these.

And not these (but these I made the other day)

And now… get ready for the next stuffed chocolate chip cookie.

Question of the Day
What do YOU  want to see me make next?

 

5 Responses to “Bread Explosion?”

  1. Tara June 12, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    First what are those things with the hershey bar on top!! I WANT THEM!!!!!

    My mom will be glad you didn’t share her “famous” recipe lol, but I will have to try this healthy version.

    I want you to make some kind of peanut butter brownie or something ha

    • danafaris June 12, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

      They are s’mores cookies! And I will get on that PB brownie for you 🙂

  2. Brooke June 12, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    I like adding applesauce to baked goods to make them healthy…it makes the dessert more moist which is always a plus! I would like to see you make an easy homemade whole wheat pizza crust…bc I want to make some and then make individual pizzas with all kinds of different toppings!

    • danafaris June 14, 2011 at 12:02 am #

      I have been craving pizza like no other lately! I’ll get right on that!

  3. Mom June 13, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    The banana bread was very moist! It was good but I think I like aunt gail’s version better. Guess I will have to be healthy in other ways. :/

Leave a Reply

