Mmmm… Pizza….

12 Jun

I had just the most wonderful night with my Spencer last night!

Together, we went out and tried a new restaurant that my mom has been raving about but I had never been to.

Brix in Roanoke was just what Spencer and I needed for our pizza cravings! You see, Spencer is my guy that can eat just whatever kind of pizza is thrown his way. Little “Miss Priss” over here though (has expensive taste) would prefer a place like Brix over Pizza Hut any day! Now how did he get stuck with a person like me??

So we went to Brix last night. I thought the wait was going to be horrendous because it was a Saturday night and the area where Brix is at is a happenin’ little area. But to our luck, not only were they able to seat us right away but they were able to seat us outside in the beautiful weather and scenery 🙂

Oh boy that made me so happy!

So our waitress was awesome and actually it was funny because she had not only went to my high school but also had waited on me at another restaurant before! Doubt she remembered though…

For dinner, Spencer ordered a pizza with Girlled Chicken, Bacon, BBQ sauce, carmelized onions, and jalapenos (the last two he asked not to be on it). And I sadly can’t remember the name of this one and my go to online menu doesn’t have it on there yet! So this must be a new one!

And I ordered the Margerita

To me, I think Spencer came out on top in this food battle. Mine just tasted a little too much like cheese pizza, but it was a refreshing change to his flavor blasted pizza!

I asked for the jalapenos on the side for Spencer’s pizza because since I try more foods, I’ve learned that I should just eat combinations the way they are… (but you can’t really get caramlized onions on the side so I just voided that). I loved his with and without the jalapenos and even used them to spice up mine a little bit!

And what do you know…. my picky eater (he really isn’t… I’m just being a butt) tried his pizza with a jalapeno and liked it. Yes, I said it. He liked it!!!! He even went back for more!!!! Shhhhh

So after dinner, Spencer and I came home and I stuck dessert in the oven while us two took Abby around for a walk. This was her first time walking in this neighborhood and boy was she smiling the whole time!

Now, I give everyone permission to laugh at my crappy iPhone pictures… but it was the best I could do. But here is Abby finding a toad the size of a baseball.

And here are my two sweet walking buddies!

I loved walking with Spencer and getting to talk 🙂

For dessert… which I as a lame blogger forgot to take a picture of… we had some baked peaches with homemade banana ice cream! I normally bake a granola type topping for it but it just wasn’t worth the effort or calories tonight 😛 But my cousin Brooke would be so proud of me for FINALLY making banana ice cream in my food processor! I just processed 4 frozen, sliced bananas in my food processor and added in some cinnamon and vanilla extract like she told me to!  While I’m at it… here is the recipe for baked peaches, which had to be for dessert because those peaches I bought at the farmers market were getting so mad at me and were shriveling up on me and were no good on their own anymore 😦

Baked Peaches

Okay guys… this recipe is so easy… but I made it and it is not a family secret. Just a good secret weapon that is healthy for you when you are having a sweet tooth of your own!

2 peaches

2 tbsp honey

1) Preheat oven to 425 F
2) Slice and pit peaches and place them in a glass baking dish
3) Drizzle honey over peaches
4) Pour 2 tbsp of water into the baking dish
5) Bake 30-40 minutes

Seriously… that simple. Serve it with ice cream and you have got yourself a fruity, healthy, but delicious dessert. And you know if Spencer likes it (who sometimes scoffs at my so healthy desserts 😉 ) then it must taste better than healthy right?

I’m always sad for Spencer to have to go at night 😦 but after some dessert, some tv watching, and some snoozing… our date night was at is close and he had to be on his way. Can’t wait for our next time!

Question of the day:
What is a food you just don’t like?

I think mine has got to be mayonnaise. Other things like tomatoes I don’t like plain, but I can eat tomatoes on a pizza or in a chili… I just can’t even muster up the strength of courage to eat mayonnaise!


3 Responses to “Mmmm… Pizza….”

  1. Tara June 12, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    That pizza looks really good! I will have to try that place when I get home 🙂 My food I don’t like is still greek yogurt… SO GROSS!!

    • danafaris June 12, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

      You tried chobani and still don’t like it??? Hey… To each her own!

  2. Brooke June 12, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    YAY for making banana icecream! U can add cocoa and make it more like a chocolate ice cream also! I want to try that pizza place…I saw it when we went to Twisted Root (which I LOVE!) Good call adding the Jalapenos back on the pizza–Jalapenos on pizza is my fav! I am so with u on not liking mayo…and I don’t like ranch, cream cheese, sour cream, pretty much all white condiments I don’t like it ha!

Leave a Reply

