Living in the Future

27 Jun

I’ve been spending a lot of time trying to figure out what I am going to do with my life. I mean, I know I’m only a sophomore in college, but it is a total lie that you have plenty of time to figure it all out. I mean, I guess that is true if you don’t plan on being done in four years… but some of us want to be!

So how do you decide so fast? Spencer said it perfectly when we went on our date to Brix: “You have an event planning internship, you are majoring in Early Childhood Education, and you really love to bake. What are you wanting to do with your life?” Those may or may not have been his exact words… but either way, it was a good question! What am I wanting to do with my life?

I started off wanting to be an event planner. I just love putting together something that makes people happy! But it is just such a difficult job… I just don’t know.

But maybe I just stick with Elementary Education. I mean, I really like the kids in 2nd-4th grade. And I love the idea of being a teacher because I want to be a good influence to kids and I also want a job that works well for me when I have kids (work during school hours, have weekends and summers off). But I’ve been told that Elementary teachers are not really in demand right now, that older age teachers are… so maybe I be a math teacher for middle schoolers?

I love to bake. I really love to bake. But going to TCU isn’t really going to improve those skills further. So one would say go to cooking school but the problem with that is I can’t imagine any other place to be but TCU. So maybe I should stick with growing my own skills. But do I switch to business and learn about that for if I start my own bakery? At the same time though… I hate business type stuff. And I have family and friends that would be more than happy to help me out with that.

I’ve also thought about Nutrition… but you have to take Organic Chemistry and other classes that I don’t know that I’m cut out for. But I’m really in to nutrition and food.

What do you think?

********

For dinner tonight, Daddy took Camp and I to Outback. It was super good! I got some grilled chicken with steamed veggies. Simple but awesome. Of course, as soon as I get a comment about how I must be getting better at taking pictures before eating… I forget to take a picture. But… I did get a picture of the Thunder Down Under dessert we got 🙂

This was gone in like… less than a minute…

What?! We like our sweets!

I also love coming home to this sweetie 🙂

********

This morning I had to open the salon at 8:30 so I woke up nice and early and made myself a breakfast of champions: an orange, whole wheat english muffin, and 3 scrambled egg whites topped with some corn salsa and a coffee on the side

I’ll begin by saying the orange was not  eaten…. it was just not very good :/

I also need to get cuter plates for taking pictures…

And on another note… I hate traffic… it made me 20 minutes late for work today 😦 You can’t tell from this picture but it continues out for at least 2 miles to the right!

Question of the day:
Do you try to plan out your whole life? Would you rather just play things by ear and take whatever comes at you?

4 Responses to “Living in the Future”

  1. Tara June 27, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    I feel ya on not knowing what you wanna do with your life! I am an education major as well, and I really do not want to be a teacher soo I am thinking about being a counselor.. who knows! The good news is you can always open your own bakery/ restaurant some day without going to school for it! I will work with ya 😉

    That thunder down under looks AMAZING! But they really should leave the nuts out of it… grossss!

    • danafaris June 28, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      Are you going to be the taste tester 😉

  2. Brooke June 28, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    I’m a planner for sure! I also don’t have much of a plan… My plan is to always love and have fun at whatever job I do and I am having fun right now so I guess this job will do until I plan out a dIfferent one ha! I think event planner sounds fun! U could even cater some of your events then u get to bake too! And I will help you in the baking department also! We should open a food trailer in Austin they are so popular… We could do that and then open real store once we are rich! 🙂

    • danafaris June 28, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      Those food trailers interest me so much! I’m bound and determined to get food from one soon because I just think they are too cool of an idea!

Leave a Reply

