Oh Happy Day!

7 Jul

What a glorious day yesterday was! You know those days where everything just works out your way?

I started out my day yesterday with a rockin workout at the gym consisting of an hour of Zumba (which I sweat my butt off at) and an hour of Yoga (which I might as well have lied to onlookers and said I had just gotten out of the pool). But man oh man did I feel good afterward!

The sun was desperately calling my name yesterday when I got done at the gym, so I headed to the pool and made a fantastic lunch for myself. We’ve got here a turkey sandwich on wheat bread.

But what really made this sandwich was that I toasted it, open faced, in the oven and topped it with spinach, mozzerella cheese, aaaaannnd apples (?). I know, weird, but I have been totally craving apples on my sandwich since the day before my birthday. That’s a whole month people…

So as I went to my Bible Information Class with Spencer and Max again today… I was super dreading that I was going to have to work after it. But sometimes… things just work out for the best… and you get a text saying you don’t have to come in for work! So back to the sun I went!

********

Last night was Dinner with Mom Thursday… but on a Wednesday. I had to switch it up in hopes that me and my soon to be going out of town boyfriend get to go out tonight!

So on the menu tonight: Catfish, Tilapia, Orzo Salad, and Easy Peach Cobbler Cake

Our catfish options: Lemon Pepper or Cajun
Our tilapia option: Pineapple Salsa type stuff!

The fish was really good. I think I rank it to be (from best to least best) Pineapple, Lemon Pepper, Cajun. I’m also just addicted to Orzo Salad….

Dear World,

This orzo salad is awesome. Try it.

1 box of orzo (cooked)

1 bag of arugula

1 container of feta

cranberries

pinenuts

olive oil (I did half a cup)

salt and pepper to taste

Cook orzo. Put in serving bowl. Combine olive oil, salt, and pepper and mix. Pour into orzo and toss. Put the rest of the toppings in and toss. Your done. That easy. Do it. I like it best cold just fyi. This stuff lasts forever in the fridge.

Love,

Dana

I just really like the orzo salad. For dessert I made a Peach Cobbler Cake. It was pretty interesting how you make it but it tasted oh so good… and with vanilla ice cream… omg.

I seriously need to watch my sweet tooth… everything below my waist is starting to round out. Hellllloooo chub!

And here is that Peach Cobbler Cake recipe for you peach lovers.

Easy Peach Cobbler Cake
(recipe from This Mommy Cooks and changed a little by myself)

1 box yellow cake mix
1 can Sprite or 7-up (I used diet and it didn’t taste any different)
3 large peaches
1 stick of butter

1) Cut up peaches into slices and line the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish. The original recipe calls that you just do a single layer… I just piled it on!
2) Sprinkle cake mix over the peaches. Make sure it is even and for the most part not clumped up. This will result in some not moistened chunks of mix (which you can see in my picture above.
3) Cut the butter in tiny squares evenly over the peaches so that they will melt all over the top of the mixture.
4) Pour the can of soda evenly over the peaches
5) Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until brown at the top. Serve with ice cream.

Question of the day:
Do y’all want me to start a recipes page of my blog?

 

2 Responses to “Oh Happy Day!”

  1. Mom July 7, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    I think the recipes included in your blog is a good idea! Also, there is plenty of orch salad left over in the fridge. I separated it out into individual servings. Come pick it up! I also made turkey taco salad that is in the refrig, so come get that too. Still need tortilla strips though!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Date Night « Doings And Dinings Of Dana - July 8, 2011

    […] dinner, we went hot tubbing and ate some more of the Easy Peach Cobbler Cake from last night. My bottom half thanked me a little bit for at least sharing a bowl with […]

Leave a Reply

