Date Night

8 Jul

So sadly, Spencer is leaving tomorrow. This is mostly troublesome to me because this is the 3rd year in a row where one of us goes out of town for a week and then the other one of us goes out of town for the week. 2 weeks is not that bad for some people… but I just kinda enjoy hanging out with him! 😛

On that note… yesterday was pretty much the only day we had available for a date night, so that is what we did!

I started off the day with a 30 minute sprint/walk. You know… I’ve been thinking about it and I think that the 15 minutes it would take me to speed walk to classes during the school year actually kept me more active. During the summer I just drive everywhere because there really isn’t many places to walk. But on campus, I walk EVERYWHERE. This led me to the conclusion that driving is stupid. I hate driving. I drive too much and walk too little during the summer. What has this world come to!

Anyway, after I worked out I had an extreme baking session. I am pretty sure I baked like 50 Reese’s Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies and then followed that up my making this recipe for the salon. And lets just say… the stylists hated me after this. So much ooey gooeyness and greatness.

For Spencer and I’s date night, we decided to try Cowtown Sushi. We had been told it was better than our go-to Sushi Sam’s but we had to try it for ourselves.

It was actually suprisingly nice inside… I wasn’t expecting much since it is just this little hole in the wall place… but it was so quaint!

We ordered the Rattlesnake Roll and the Sunset Roll with a starter of edamame.

I know you all know what edamame  looks like… but this is my only negative comment about the whole experience: the edamame serving was pretty small (which was kind of appreciated because normally I can’t finish a whole serving but this was just still a little small for me) and the edamame did not seem to be the freshest I had ever had… kind of had the texture of frozen packaged bag edamame. And don’t get me wrong… I can enjoy a bag of frozen edamame! Just at my home where I probably would suck at making it fresh. Not at a restaurant.

Our sushi was SO GOOD. The Rattlesnake Roll consisted of fried shrimp, crabmeat, avocado, pickled jalapeno, and I think cucumber?

The Sunset Roll consisted of crabmeat, avocado, and smoked salmon with Sunset Sauce… and that sauce was good. I’m drooling right now. (not really… but does that get my point across of how good it was?)

Altogether, can’t say it is better than Sushi Sam’s by any means…. but it definitely is an equal.

After dinner, we went hot tubbing and ate some more of the Easy Peach Cobbler Cake from last night. My bottom half thanked me a little bit for at least sharing a bowl with Spencer.

And now I’m almost off to Kickboxing… to have my bottom half kicked. And it needs it…

Question of the day:
Do you feel like you are constantly having to drive place to place?

2 Responses to “Date Night”

  1. Mom July 8, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Uh….this is the story of my adult life!!! Just wait until you have kids!!!!! 🙂

  2. Tara July 8, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    Whatever the thing is at the top looks great! Very messy but great haha.

Leave a Reply

