5K Training

12 Jul

If you are keeping track… I have already started a food blog, gotten bangs, and decided to look into culinary school. So it would only make since for me to find a new thing to do: train for a 5K

What am I thinking?!? Anyone that knows me knows that I can work out and go to the gym like a crazy person but knows that I just can’t run!

It is not that I can’t run because I can’t cardiovascularly do it. I think it is a combination of
A) I get bored
B) I have bad joints due to a sports injury

But here is the deal… I need some gym motivation. I just am sick of the same old same old right? So I decided to start training for a 5K. No, I don’t have one in mind… but heck I’ll be ready when the time comes!

So yesterday’s workout was to do a “long run” for 5 miles… which I already thought to myself I was NOT going to be able to do in one sitting. But when I realized that the pace was to be 14.36 (a.k.a. a 4 mph speed) (A.k.a. slower than my normal walking speed), I thought it was going to be nothing.

But I got bored 😛

For lunch, I helped myself to the rest of my black bean and corn salad in a pita with a nectarine to the side.

Instead of doing stuff around the house today… I decided to do some shopping with everyone!

But first stop was In and Out Burger in which the line was around the restaurant twice.

Sadly, I had a chronic headache so this experience may not have been the best one. I didn’t get anything because I had already eaten… but the company was good!

Side note: Found out that my chronic headache was due to me not having my morning cup of coffee. Now I am not an addict… and thought that I could do without it this morning… but my body obviously thinks otherwise.

We then went to the mall where I got a couple cute clothes

My Bethany Frankel Cookbook!

Aaaaannnd my panini maker!!!!! Yay!!!!

(and my cup of coffee to cure my headache)

After the mall was IKEA.

I love this store… mostly for this reason.

To wrap up the night…  Dad, Camp, and I went to see X-Men! It was so good. Also, there was this beyond awesome candy machine that I think Spencer would have loved! You just type in the candies you want and it pours it down a chute into a little to go container for you!

Happy Tuesday everyone!

6 Responses to “5K Training”

  1. Tara July 12, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    That candy machine looks awesome! I am so excited to hear that you are training for a 5k!! I know you secretly just wanna join Brooke and I’s running club right?? haha

    • danafaris July 13, 2011 at 9:07 am #

      Yes. Yes I do. I am just too jealous of your running skills that I am dying to join the group 😛

  2. Dawn July 12, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Dana,
    Find someone to run with…..and not on a treadmill. It is way less boring because you will chat the entire time. 5K will only take you 30 minutes plus minus a little. You can do it!!!
    Dawn

    • danafaris July 13, 2011 at 9:07 am #

      I could easily run with Tara… but she is to intense for me! Once Spencer get’s back from his trip I am certain he will want to do it with me so that will be good!

  3. Brooke July 13, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Yay for running! U can so do a 5k easily! I will run with ya next time I am home…me and mitch are way less intense so I know u can hang! You definitely need to run outside…way less boring! I can’t stand treadmills!

    • danafaris July 13, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      I just get so hot!!! I enjoy running outside too and I love when I can wake up at 8 and the weather allow for it…. But if I have to wake up at 5 to stay cool… It might be tough!

Leave a Reply

