Tuesday Treats: Chili, Cornbread, and Ice Cream

13 Jul

Really quickly… I would like to brag on my lunch. I had an open faced sandwich with turkey, mozz, applesssss, and a little fig spread. It was like summer fruity golden melty happiness. I love when cheese looks like this… does that make me weird?

Tonight I made a fabulous dinner for Dad and Camp. Well, at least I thought it was fabulous!

On the menu: Firehouse Turkey Chili, Cornbread, and Banana ice cream!

This meal was incredibly filling. Camp wasn’t as much into it because it was more vegetables than meat… but he’s 10…. so that doesn’t say much 😉

Firehouse Turkey Chili

Recipe from Shape Magazine

Serves 4 people

1 tbsp olive oil
1 large garlic clove, smashed
1/2 c chopped scallions
1/2 lb ground turkey
2 tbsp chili powder
1 can (28 oz) crushed tomatoes
1 can (15 oz) kidney beans, rinsed and drained
1 medium red bell pepper, diced
1 c carrot, diced
1/2 tsp brown sugar
salt to taste

1) Put a large saucepan over medium-high heat and heat oil until hot. Put in garlic and scallions and stir for 1 minute.
2) Put in ground turkey, break it up, and cook until browned (about 2-3 minutes). Stir in chili powder and cook for another minute. Add in tomatoes, kidney beans, carrots, red pepper, brown sugar, and salt. Bring to a boil.
3) Bring temperature down to a simmer and cover for 15 minutes.

Cornbread

From allrecipes.com

Serves 12

1 c all-purpose flour
1 c yellow cornmeal
2/3 c white sugar
1 tsp salt
3 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 egg
1 c milk
1/3 c vegetable oil

1.) Preheat oven to 400F
2.) Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Stir in moist ingredients.
3.) Pour into greased 9-in cake pan (or I hear you can use muffin tins). Bake 20-25 min. Serve!

Banana Ice Cream

3 frozen bananas
splash of milk (optional)
splash of vanilla extract
cinnamon

1.) In food processor or blender, blend up frozen bananas until creamy. Once creamy, I add a little splash of milk just to give it a little creamier of a consistancy.
2.) Add in splash of vanilla and cinnamon and process a little longer. Put into a freezer safe container to freeze a little bit or be impatient like me and eat some right away… 🙂

(Honey is a fabulous topping on it!)

Enjoy!

5 Responses to “Tuesday Treats: Chili, Cornbread, and Ice Cream”

  1. Tara July 13, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    That chili looks great! It reminds me of Mcalisters veggie chili which is also very good!! 🙂
    P.s I love when the cheese on my pizza looks like that, so I guess we are both weird haha

  2. Brooke July 13, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Yall are weird…bc that cheese looks like the worst part to the sandwich to me ha! That sandwich sounds awesome minus the cheese! I love figs! We just got a homemade white peach jam from the farmers market last weekend thats really good! Yay for banana icecream! I need to freeze some bananas so I can make that soon!

    • danafaris July 13, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      I want to try that peach jam… That sounds amazing!

  3. MUNCHY July 13, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Holy crap da-nay-nay i didnt know you had this! sounds amazing though. You should come over and be me and michael’s personal chef. 😀

    • danafaris July 14, 2011 at 8:27 am #

      I will! And you will have to come over when I cook for the boys 🙂

Leave a Reply

