Howdy from Cali!

17 Jul

Howdy y’all from Newport Beach, California!

I know I haven’t mentioned anything leading up to me leaving to go here but it was a total surprise for my friend John that lives here!

California was instantly amazing. For lunch, we went to a restaurant called True Food Kitchen.

The website describes the restaurant in this way:

“When it comes to healthy eating, it seems like the focus is always on the rules. Eat this. Don’t eat that.

But what if you found a way to actually enjoy food that happens to be good for you too?

True Food Kitchen is about flavor, freshness, variety, quality, nutrition and balance. It’s about enjoying healthy whole foods that are rich in vitamins and minerals.

We’re here to make healthy eating a much more flavorful and satisfying experience. Because when you eat right, you just feel better. It’s true.”

The menu was absolutely captivating… I think I wanted EVERYTHING! I just couldn’t decide.

I eventually decided on the Spaghetti Squash Casserole. I have been dying to try Spaghetti Squash for a while now and so this was my perfect opportunity.

While we were waiting for food… I got myself a Red Moon. It was a combination of Blood Orange, Yuzu, Agave, and Soda. Oh man was this thing tangy! The Blood Orange just stuck out but it was still so good!

I really enjoyed my Spaghetti Squash and the portions at this place were perfect! I was expecting what every restaurant does (giving double the portion you should have) but it was perfect!  I tried some of my mom’s Sundried Tomato and Olive Pizza. It was very good!

After True Food Kitchen, we were off to Trader Joe’s! Guys, I have been dying to go here. You have no idea.

It was much smaller than I had imagined. I had imagined the size of a Central Market but it was just a small little place!

I’ll get into my bag of goodies when I get home 🙂 That gets its own post!

After Trader Joe’s, we dropped off our groceries and I opened a little gift from Mrs. Tarver: Trader Joe’s Cookbooks! Can’t wait to use these. We then went to an Art Festival. It was so cool how it was all set up. The little food areas were pretty interesting too.

Um… fried everything? I wish my body could take that goodness… 😛

Now we are home to celebrate John’s Birthday and the good company. Gosh I love California… I think I could live here!!!!

Leave a Reply

