Cake Batter Rice Krispy Treats

8 Aug

Yesterday was Sunday Daddy-Daughter Day! It’s about time that me and dad have a day to ourselves in which we just spend time with each other. We started out the day with some yummy breakfast that daddy cooked: Eggs over easy with an english muffin and half a banana. Oh. And a huge glass of coffee of course.

And I mean… look at his plate… Who knows what my 3 year old self thought I was drawing for Christmas.

Dad and I spent the rest of the day doing some awesome shopping at Town Square, eating some awesome meals at Cafe Express and Twisted Root, and doing some awesome texture on our movie room. 🙂

********

I used to hate marshmallows. I mean… they were okay with other things like melted on stuff… but I was not one to just pop them into my mouth.

Much to my surprise.. I was just popping these things in my mouth like it was nobodies business. Anyway, the key to the perfect rice krispie treats has been found… yellow cake mix.

Let me have these any day! Too bad I made these for my brother since he came back from camp this weekend.

Heck… they won me over. I’m sure they will win him over!

Cake Batter Rice Krispy Treats
Recipe from How Sweet It Is

3 tbsp butter
1 10-oz pkg mini marshmallows
1/4 c yellow cake mix (I would put more next time I do it… maybe 3/4)
6 c rice krispies cereal
sprinkles (optional)

1) Melt butter in a saucepan over low. Once melted, add marshmallows.
2) Once marshmallows are melted, add in cake mix a spoonful at a time. Combine.
3) Take off heat and immediately mix in rice krispies, mixing a little after each addition. Also mix in sprinkles here.
4) With greased rubber spatula, press mixture into a glass baking dish of any size. Wait 30 minutes before cutting. Use a greased or very sharp knife to cut!

Oy… am I the only one who likes handmade rice krispy treats better than the packaged ones? Never eat a packaged one again I tell yah!

One Response to “Cake Batter Rice Krispy Treats”

  1. Tara August 9, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    I love rice krispy treats! I have never heard of putting cake mix in them though, I will definitely be trying this!!

Leave a Reply

