In the kitchen again!

12 Nov

I finally got in the kitchen again!!! Woohoo!

 

So last night, I got to go home and cook dinner for my mom, Eric, Sara, and Camp. It was a super successful meal! It was exactly what I needed after such a long week of work and just total junk.

 

For dinner, Mom wanted Mexican food. So, on the menu was Mexican Spice Grilled Chicken, Grilled Vegetables, Black Beans, Whole Wheat Tortillas, and Guacamole.

 

I was so excited that when I got to the house, everything was already cut up!

Oh my, stress free! Have I mentioned I’m not really a fan of cooking? I much prefer baking! I hate the “Do 10 things at once” aspect of cooking… it really stresses me out! With baking, I just kinda throw some ingredients together, let it cook, and then it is done!

 

First was some guacamole for munching on with fritos. Yes Fritos. We didn’t have tortilla chips!

 

Everyone dug in way to fast….

Guacamole

3 avocados

1/2 lime juice

1 minced garlic clove

1/4c pico

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp salt

pepper to taste

1.) Mix all of the ingredients together!

 

Then I seasoned the vegetables with a little EVOO, salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, and cumin. Threw them on a pan covered in foil and in the grill they went!

The chicken was seasoned with a packet of taco seasoning and then thrown on the grill also.

Dinner was very successful and I think everyone loved it! It was so great getting to see my mom and Eric… but I hate to say it… I missed my siblings! And I actually felt like they missed me which makes me sad and makes me miss them more.

And dessert. Oh lordy dessert. This was suprisingly amazing. You would never know that something so simple could taste so good.

The recipe called for almonds… and this is what I found in the pantry… and they were UHMAYZING, so you know that I had to use them!

Topped these with some ice cream and ohh man. I mean… these definitely could have been done without it they were so good.

Baked Apples

serves 5 full apples or 10 people with halves

5 granny smith apples, cored and halved

honey

2 tbsp brown sugar

1/2 c almonds, chopped

1 tbsp cinnamon

apple juice, apple cider, or I just used water

butter (I used “I can’t believe its not butter” spray)

1.) Place apples in baking dish. To make them not rock, cut a little flat section on the back so they will sit still.

2.) Drizzle apples with honey.

3.) Combine almonds, cinnamon, and brown sugar. Sprinkle over apples.

4.) But a little bit of butter on top of each apple. (Since I used the spray for this… I just gave it about five sprays on each apple, just enough to moisten the sugar mixture.

5.) Fill dish with liquid of choice about halfway up apple.

6.) Bake 45 min-1 hour… until apples are browned

Serve Immediately

So tonight, I am meeting my Dad and Ms. Small down in Dallas for Zach Brown Concert tonight!!!! And I am getting to share this date night with Spencer… FINALLY! Oh boy I am soooo excited… and can’t wait for it… getting ready as I type!!

 

 

One Response to “In the kitchen again!”

  1. Tara November 16, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    This dinner and dessert looked great! Please come cook for me!!

Leave a Reply

