TIPS for a great Thanksgiving

27 Nov

This has been a Thanksgiving Break to remember!

So after feasting on Thursday, I thought it would be best to… well… feast again with my mom on Friday night since I didn’t get to spend Thanksgiving with her on Thursday! I was handed this picture right away and knew I was excited…

But first… Black Friday Shopping right? So there wasn’t really anything specific I needed or wanted to Black Friday Shopping was kind of a bust…. but it was a good time spent with my mom and Sara. We hit up DSW, Nordstrom Rack, Central Market, Kohls, Target, and World Market. And in total… I left with 2 scarves and some good Christmas packaging for goodies I make! Totes lame šŸ˜›

So for dinner (since I know that’s what everyone wants to know):

Bacon Wrapped Tenderloin topped with Blue Cheese

Spaghetti Squash

Asparagus

Mushrooms

Pumpkin Crunch Cake

Dark Chocolate Lacey Cookies

Dinner was so tasty! And I loved the spaghetti squash in replacement of spaghetti. Mom’s Pumpkin Crunch Cake was good but very different! Hers cooked better than mine but tasted a little saltier since she had used salted butter on the top. I liked the solidness of it though… mine was a little too custardy.

It was a fantastic night!

********
So tonight was Second Thanksgiving. Second Thanksgiving was inspired by Dad’s desire to fry a turkey… and mine to make some awesome Thanksgiving side dishes!

However… Thanksgiving is only meant for us to have it once we’ve learned:

As I was slicing potatoes with the mandolin…. I wonderfully sliced my finger open! It was a pretty nasty cut… and I haven’t had the guts to see how deep it is to see if I need to get it checked out…

THEN… as Dad was cleaning the mandolin… he as the title of this post suggests, sliced the tip of his finger off! And well… since it wouldn’t stop bleeding… he eventually had to drive himself to the clinic to get his finger burned back together…

And after many burns to my skin from stupidly grabbing fresh out of the oven dishes and much more bloodshed… our guests were here and dinner was served! On the menu for dinner was:

Cornbread, Chorizo, Jalapeno Dressing

Mashed Potato Casserole

Green Bean Casserole

Cauliflower Gratin

Sweet Potato Rolls

Sweet Potato Pie

Brownies

Turkey

Since Dad was at the clinic, Aunt Gail and Aunt Angie carved the Turkey.

While everyone else looked on and waited…

And Mitch some people decided to start eating some turkey as it came off the body šŸ˜›

So other than the turkey and the rolls… Everything was from the November issue of Cooking Light! So I didn’t feel guilty at all eating everything.

The dressing and the rolls were my favorite! Carbolicious šŸ˜‰ The spicy flavor of the cornbread was fantastic!

Eventually, Dad returned and got to enjoy his food also. What a trooper šŸ™‚

Having everyone over was great company and great conversation. So even though we had our rough times… It was still a lot of fun! And I hope you enjoyed the tips for a great thanksgiving. Basically… don’t cut your finger off, cut your finger, or burn yourself. Be aware in the kitchen! You may have the mandolin from hell!

Dad and I wrapped up the night by watching Secretariat and just relaxing since whenever we get our heart rates up… our fingers hurt haha!

Now back to work at 11 am on a Sunday. And back to the reality of school. At least I got this mini-break!

 

4 Responses to “TIPS for a great Thanksgiving”

  1. Tara November 27, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Everything was definitely amazing!! i am glad I have a cousin who can cook so well! Do you have the recipe for the rolls and that spaghetti squash? I have been wanting to make that… I had it at a restaurant and it was delicious! Good luck with the last few weeks of school!!

    • danafaris November 27, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      Yes! So the spaghetti squash I just cut in half, seeded it (kinda like a pumpkin until they are hollowed out in the middle), put it in a BIG pot of boiling water for 15 minutes, took them out and attacked them with a fork, scraping out the spaghetti squash!

      The sweet potato rolls I will post today šŸ™‚

  2. Mom November 27, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Looks like a nice and very eventful second Thanksgiving!!! Boy, you had a lot of mouths to feed!!! You are going to be a pro at cooking Thanksgiving dinner!

  3. Brooke November 27, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I loved the dressing and green bean casserole! So yummy! Turkey was awesome too! I want to try making that spaghetti squash bc I love that stuff too! Mitch loved the turkey skin… What a weirdo! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

